News

Mon, 11/13/2017

Our group's most recent paper (J. Mater. Sci. 2017) was selected for 'Editors' Pick' at the Journal of Materials Science for the December 2017 issue.

Mon, 10/16/2017

Trevor Paglen colllaborated with necstlab on The Last Pictures project while he was an artist in residence at MIT. He spoke at...

Fri, 09/29/2017

The Institute for Ultra-Strong Composites by Computational Design (US-COMP) is a NASA Space Technology Research Institute awarded in 2017.

US-COMP will serve as a focal point for partnerships between NASA, other agencies, industry, and academia to: (1) enable computationally-driven...

Tue, 09/12/2017

Diemut Strebe, Ida...

Fri, 09/01/2017

Carbon nanotubes lower the transformation temperature of glassy carbon, possibly aiding manufacturers, MIT researchers Itai Stein and Ashley Kaiser) report.

...
Tue, 05/30/2017

Namiko Yamamoto, assistant professor of aerospace engineering at Penn State, was recently awarded $447,663 through the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Sea-Based Aviation...

Sat, 04/15/2017

Established in the late Dr. McNair’s honor by the Black Alumni/ae of MIT, the scholarship "recognizes a black undergraduate who has demonstrated...

Fri, 03/17/2017

“These materials we’re working with, which are commonly found in SU-8 and other hydrocarbons that can be hardened using ultraviolet [UV] light, are really...

Thu, 01/19/2017

Technology co-developed by Metis Design Corp. and necstlab in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at the Massachusetts...

Wed, 12/21/2016

“You can think of each nanotube in the forest as being concentrically coated with different layers of polymer,” says Brian Wardle, professor of aeronautics and astronautics at MIT. “If you drew it in cross-section, it would be like rings on a tree.”